> Updated iOS 26 Settings
[DATE: 05/01/2026 02:00]
[LANGUAGE: EN]
Much like the macOS guide, Extreme Privacy, 5th Edition also offered many privacy and security considerations for previous versions of iOS. That content is also pushing two years old now, so I am again overdue for an update. This article revisits that entire section for the recent changes within iOS 26.
The following assumes you are on iOS 26.1, which was the latest version at the time of writing. Now that we have let Apple offer the first major update to that OS, the menu settings should be fairly locked in. I always prefer to wait for a ".1" update before documenting specific menu settings. This guide also assumes you have already purchased and booted the mobile device, created your Apple ID, and configuring any personal customizations as explained in the book.
The purpose of this article is to revisit all of the System Settings for optimal iOS privacy and security. While everything here will work if you logged in to an iCloud account, which is different than an Apple account, some menus may appear differently. Consider it a supplement to the content within the book.
Once you can access the system on the device, the following configurations should be considered through the Settings menu. Note that some of these settings may disable features which you find desirable, and some options here might not be present within your device. Research any modifications and apply settings which are most appropriate for your usage. Never blindly accept my opinions, understand why you want the change.
Settings > Apple Account > Personal Information > Name and Photo Sharing > Disabled
Settings > Apple Account > Personal Information > Communication Preferences > Disable all
Settings > Apple Account > Media & Purchases > View Account > Personalized... > Disabled
Settings > Bluetooth > Off (If not used)
Settings > Cellular > Disable as desired
Settings > General > Software Update > Automatic Updates > Off
Settings > General > AirDrop > Receiving Off
Settings > General > AirDrop > Bringing Devices Together > Disabled
Settings > General > AirDrop > Use Cellular Data > Disabled
Settings > General > AirPlay & Continuity > Disable all
Settings > General > Picture in Picture > Disabled
Settings > General > AutoFill & Passwords > Disable all
Settings > General > Background App Refresh > Apple Store > Disabled
Settings > General > Background App Refresh > Shortcuts > Disabled
Settings > General > Background App Refresh > Voice Memos > Disabled
Settings > General > Keyboard > Auto-Correction > Disabled
Settings > General > Keyboard > Enable Dictation > Disabled
Settings > General > Keyboard > Stickers > Disabled
Settings > Battery > Battery Percentage > Enabled
Settings > Passwords > Password Options > Autofill Passwords > Disabled
Settings > Camera > Scan QR Codes > Disabled
Settings > Search > Show Recent Searches > Disabled
Settings > Search > Show Recent Searches > Show Related Content > Disabled
Settings > Search > Show Recent Searches > Help Improve Search > Disabled
Settings > Search > Each App > Disable all
Settings > Siri > Disable all
Settings > Standby > Standby > Disabled
Settings > Notifications > Scheduled Summary > Off
Settings > Notifications > Show previews > Never
Settings > Notifications > Screen Sharing > Notifications Off
Settings > Notifications > Siri Suggestions > Disable all
Settings > Notifications > Disable notifications on sensitive apps
Settings > Notifications > If desired, disable all Government Alerts
Settings > Sounds & Haptics > Keyboard Feedback > Sound > Disabled
Settings > Sounds & Haptics > Keyboard Feedback > Haptic > Enabled
Settings > Sounds & Haptics > Lock Sound > Disabled
Settings > Face ID & Passcode > Password AutoFill > Disabled
Settings > Face ID & Passcode > Allow Access When Locked > Disable undesired
Settings > Privacy & Security > Location services > Disable all
Settings > Privacy & Security > Tracking > Disable all
Settings > Privacy & Security > Motion & Fitness > Disable all
Settings > Privacy & Security > Nearby Interactions > Disable all
Settings > Privacy & Security > Paired Devices > Disable all
Settings > Privacy & Security > Research Sensor & Usage Data > Disable all
Settings > Privacy & Security > Journaling Suggestions > Disable all
Settings > Privacy & Security > Sensitive Content Warning > Disabled
Settings > Privacy & Security > Analytics & Improvements > Disable all
Settings > Privacy & Security > Apple Advertising > Personalized Ads > Disabled
Settings > Privacy & Security > App Privacy Report > Off
Settings > Privacy & Security > Wired Accessories > Automatically Allow When Unlocked
Settings > Game Center > Disabled
Settings > Apps > App Store > Automatic Downloads > Disable all
Settings > Apps > App Store > Video Autoplay > Off
Settings > Apps > App Store > In-App Ratings & Reviews > Disabled
Settings > Apps > App Store > Offload Unused Apps > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Apple Store > Video Autoplay > Off
Settings > Apps > Maps > Share ETA > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Maps > Air Quality Index > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Maps > Weather Conditions > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Maps > Ratings and Photos > Disabled (If Present)
Settings > Apps > Maps > Show Ratings and Photos Suggestion > Disabled (If present)
Settings > Apps > Maps > Follow Up by Email > Disabled (If Present)
Settings > Apps > Photos > Shared Albums > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Photos > Show Hidden Album > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Photos > Show Recently Viewed & Shared > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Photos > Show Featured Content > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Photos > Enhanced Visual Search > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Safari > Siri & Search > Disable All
Settings > Apps > Safari > Search Engine > DuckDuckGo
Settings > Apps > Safari > Search Engine Suggestions > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Safari > Safari Suggestions > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Safari > Show Recent Searches > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Safari > Quick Website Search > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Safari > Preload Top Hit > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Safari > AutoFill > Disable All
Settings > Apps > Safari > Prevent Cross-Site Tracking > Enabled
Settings > Apps > Safari > Fraudulent Website Warning > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Safari > Highlights > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Safari > Camera > Deny
Settings > Apps > Safari > Microphone > Deny
Settings > Apps > Safari > Location > Deny
Settings > Apps > Safari > Advanced > Privacy Preserving Ad... > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Safari > Advanced > Check for Apple Pay > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Shortcuts > iCloud Sync > Disabled
Settings > Apps > Shortcuts > Private Sharing > Disabled
These settings provide more privacy from Apple while taking advantage of their secure mobile operating system. Modify your device as needed and never let our fascination with privacy completely break the functionality of technology.